Learning Languages

When you first build the character, your Linguistics grants you a certain number of language points.

  • 1 = 1
  • 2 = 3
  • 3 = 6
  • 4 = 10
  • 5 = 15

If you also have the Natural Linguist Merit, you gain +2 for each dot in Linguistics as well. .  So a maximum of 25 points.

Once you enter play, Linguistics no longer gives you additional languages; it just makes it easier to understands ones you haven’t fully learned yet.

Learning a new language is a done in stages, like in real life.  You are not just instantly fluent.  To that end, you buy each language with XP like a secondary.  The dots representing your mastery of that language from basic to fluent.