Mortals are just that.  Everyday denizens of the World of Darkness.  There is technically no limit to how many ordinary humans you can create, though it is rare that we will approve more than one in a month.  Additional characters may sit in limbo if you already have others in play.

Though it is possible that some otherwise normal Mortals may develop or discover hidden things about themselves, you can give these characters a supernatural head start.  Kinfolk, Psychics, and Romani fall into these categories.  You must spend Freebies to acquire starting Sorcery, Gifts, etc.

Mortals are susceptible to issues regarding their Sanity when exposed repeatedly to the Supernatural world.  There are certain exceptions to this:  Romani are immune, Kinfolk don’t suffer exposure from Shifters, Revenants receive reduced exposure, Kinain don’t suffer exposure from Fae, Orpheus don’t suffer when exposed to ghosts.  Mortals playing with psychic powers and sorcery are far from immune though, and run the risk of ending up in a rubber room eventually.

Some types count as other Venues:  Kinfolk count as a Shifter slot.  Orpheus count as a Wraith slot.  Revenants count as a Vampire slot (though regular ghouls do not).  Romani count as their own slot, despite being technically mortal, not more than one will be allowed per player without Karma.



Now you need to choose a name.  !checkname <name> will tell you if a name is already taken.  This is what you will use in anything that says <character> from now on.

You should NOT use your Nick/Player Name as your character name to avoid confusion with certain commands.

If the name is not taken, proceed with both of the following:
!new-mortal <character>  {Example: !new-mortal ImaTest}
!set-basic <character> Name <your character’s Full Name>  {Example: !set-basic ImaTest Name I Am A Test}

For a list of Nature/Demeanors:  Archetypes

You will need a Nature, which is a reflection of your character’s inner self.
!set-basic <character> Nature <your character’s Nature>  {Example: !set-basic ImaTest Nature Sage}

You will need a Demeanor, which is how your character seems to appear to others.
!set-basic <character> Demeanor <your character’s Demeanor>  {Example: !set-basic ImaTest Demeanor Pedagogue}

Finally you will need a concept. This is a very brief description of your character.  Examples: Lost Soldier, Postal Worker, Occult Librarian
!set-basic <character> Concept <your character’s Concept>  {Example: !set-basic ImaTest Concept Example Character}



You will now need to choose which is most important to your character regarding Attributes.  You have three options:  Physical, Social, and Mental.  Put them in from greatest to least importance.  You will get 6 Points for #1,  4 Points for #2, and 3 Points for #3.
!att-order <character> <#1> <#2> <#3>  {Example: !att-order ImaTest Social Mental Physical}

You will add points based on the order you chose. You have three Attributes in each Group.  Only put in the points you are adding, not your total. If you need to undo points, a simple -points will do.  You cannot assign more than 3 of your points to a single stat at this stage.  All Traits in this category begin with 1 free dot.

  • Physical Traits:  Strength, Dexterity, Stamina
  • !set-physical <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-physical ImaTest Stamina 2}
  • Social Traits:  Charisma, Manipulation, Appearance
  • !set-social <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-social ImaTest Charisma 3}
  • Mental Traits:  Perception, Intelligence, Wits
  • !set-mental <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-mental ImaTest Wits 1}



Now it is time to choose Abilities for your character.  Like with Attributes, you need to prioritize these Groups.  The three Groups are:  Talents, Skills, and Knowledges.  Give them an order from most to least important.  You will get 11 Points for #1, 7 Points for #2, and 4 Points for #3.

!abi-order <character> <#1> <#2> <#3>  {Example: !abi-order ImaTest Skills Talents Knowledges}

You will add points based on the order you chose. You have twelve Abilities in each Group.  Only put in the points you are adding, not your total. If you need to undo points, a simple -points will do.  You cannot assign more than 3 of your points to a single stat at this stage.

  • Talents:  Alertness, Athletics, Awareness, Brawl, Empathy, Expression, Intimidation, Intuition, Leadership, Primal-Urge, Streetwise, Subterfuge
  • !set-talents <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-talents ImaTest Athletics 1}
  • Skills:  AnimalKen, Crafts, Do, Drive, Etiquette, Firearms, Larceny, Meditation, Melee, Performance, Stealth, Survival
  • !set-skills <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-skills ImaTest Larceny 2}
  • Knowledges:  Academics, Computer, Culture, Enigmas, Investigation, Law, Linguistics, Medicine, Occult, Politics, Science, Technology
  • !set-knowledges <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-knowledges ImaTest Law 1}



Next is Secondary Abilities. These are used instead of Specializations here.  You get 3 free points to add here. But cannot assign more than 2 to a single stat at this stage.

If you need a list to get started:  ?help creation secondary-talents, ?help creation secondary-skills, ?help creation secondary-knowledges

!set-secondary <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-knowledges ImaTest Lore-Vampire 1}



Now comes Backgrounds.  Backgrounds are listed on the website.

You get 9 points to add here, you cannot add more that 3 to a single one initially.  Mortals get more backgrounds than any other because they are the most connected to the world.

!set-backgrounds <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-knowledges ImaTest Resources 1}



This part is totally optional and not required for a complete character.  If you choose to take flaws, you may have up to 7 points of them.  Each time you take flaws, you gain points to take Merits with.

!set-flaws <character> <trait> <+points>


This part you will only complete if you also took Flaws.  You get as many points for Merits as you took in Flaws.

!set-merits <character> <trait> <+points>


Freebies! As a mortal, you get 21 points to spend. Each section costs a different amount (point cost).

  • Attributes  (5)
  • Abilities  (2)
  • Secondary  (1)
  • Backgrounds  (1)
  • [Virtues]  MaxWillpower (1)
  • [Virtues]  Gnosis  {Kinfolk Only}  (2)
  • Sorcery  {Romani Only}  (5)
  • Disciplines {Ghoul Only}  (7)
  • Gifts {Kinfolk Only}  (5)

Each use of the command raises that trait by 1 point only for the appropriate cost.

!freebies <character> <section> <trait>



This should now be complete!
To review:  !see <character> <section>  will show you where your points are spent.
And  !see <character> creation  will show you if you missed spending any points anywhere.

Once everything is squared away, you can then submit and it will post it to the STs for review and approval.

!submit <character>

You are done! Now you just wait for either approval or editing if it turns out something needs tweaking.