Mage creation notes.



Now you need to choose a name.  !checkname <name> will tell you if a name is already taken.  This is what you will use in anything that says <character> from now on.

You should NOT use your Nick/Player Name as your character name to avoid confusion with certain commands.

If the name is not taken, proceed with both of the following:
!new-mage <character>  {Example: !new-mage ImaTest}
!set-basic <character> Name <your character’s Full Name>  {Example: !set-basic ImaTest Name I Am A Test}

For a list of Nature/Demeanors:  Archetypes

You will need a Nature, which is a reflection of your character’s inner self.
!set-basic <character> Nature <your character’s Nature>  {Example: !set-basic ImaTest Nature Sage}

You will need a Demeanor, which is how your character seems to appear to others.
!set-basic <character> Demeanor <your character’s Demeanor>  {Example: !set-basic ImaTest Demeanor Pedagogue}

You will need an Essence, which is the core of your Avatar.  There are four options:  Primordial, Questing, Pattern, and Dynamic.
!set-basic <character> Essence <your character’s Essence>  {Example:  !set-basic ImaTest Essence Pattern}

You will need an Affinity.  If you have a Tradition, then your affinity is set by that (VAs may choose either Data or Corr), otherwise choose one.
!set-basic <character> Affinity <your character’s specialty sphere>  {Example:  !set-basic ImaTest Affinity Life}

You will need a defined Paradigm.  Just a short sentence will do to explain your character’s ideas on how magic works. If you need help, ask.
!set-basic <character> Paradigm <your character’s Paradigm Ideal>  {Example:  !set-basic ImaTest Paradigm My character uses the The Universe is a Hologram approach to magic, altering people, places, and things like files in a computer.}

Finally you will need a concept. This is a very brief description of your character.  Examples: Lost Soldier, Postal Worker, Occult Librarian
!set-basic <character> Concept <your character’s Concept>  {Example: !set-basic ImaTest Concept Example Character}



You will now need to choose which is most important to your character regarding Attributes.  You have three options:  Physical, Social, and Mental.  Put them in from greatest to least importance.  You will get 7 Points for #1,  5 Points for #2, and 3 Points for #3.
!att-order <character> <#1> <#2> <#3>  {Example: !att-order ImaTest Social Mental Physical}

You will add points based on the order you chose. You have three Attributes in each Group.  Only put in the points you are adding, not your total. If you need to undo points, a simple -points will do.  You cannot assign more than 3 of your points to a single stat at this stage.  All Traits in this category begin with 1 free dot.

  • Physical Traits:  Strength, Dexterity, Stamina
  • !set-physical <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-physical ImaTest Stamina 2}
  • Social Traits:  Charisma, Manipulation, Appearance
  • !set-social <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-social ImaTest Charisma 3}
  • Mental Traits:  Perception, Intelligence, Wits
  • !set-mental <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-mental ImaTest Wits 1}



Now it is time to choose Abilities for your character.  Like with Attributes, you need to prioritize these Groups.  The three Groups are:  Talents, Skills, and Knowledges.  Give them an order from most to least important.  You will get 13 Points for #1, 9 Points for #2, and 5 Points for #3.

!abi-order <character> <#1> <#2> <#3>  {Example: !abi-order ImaTest Skills Talents Knowledges}

You will add points based on the order you chose. You have twelve Abilities in each Group.  Only put in the points you are adding, not your total. If you need to undo points, a simple -points will do.  You cannot assign more than 3 of your points to a single stat at this stage.

  • Talents:  Alertness, Athletics, Awareness, Brawl, Empathy, Expression, Intimidation, Intuition, Leadership, Primal-Urge, Streetwise, Subterfuge
  • !set-talents <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-talents ImaTest Athletics 1}
  • Skills:  AnimalKen, Crafts, Do, Drive, Etiquette, Firearms, Larceny, Meditation, Melee, Performance, Stealth, Survival
  • !set-skills <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-skills ImaTest Larceny 2}
  • Knowledges:  Academics, Computer, Culture, Enigmas, Investigation, Law, Linguistics, Medicine, Occult, Politics, Science, Technology
  • !set-knowledges <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-knowledges ImaTest Law 1}



Next is Secondary Abilities. These are used instead of Specializations here.  You get 3 free points to add here. But cannot assign more than 2 to a single stat at this stage.

If you need a list to get started:  ?help creation secondary-talents, ?help creation secondary-skills, ?help creation secondary-knowledges

!set-secondary <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-knowledges ImaTest Lore-Vampire 1}



Now comes Backgrounds.  Backgrounds are listed on the website.

You get 5 points to add here, you cannot add more that 3 to a single one initially.

!set-backgrounds <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-knowledges ImaTest Resources 1}


Next is Spheres.  You cannot begin play with a Sphere higher than your Arete, but as long as you cover it by increasing Arete in Freebies you can spend your initial points into bringing these above 1.

You must take at least 1 point in your affinity and get 6 points with which to begin.
!set-spheres <character> <trait> <+points>  {Example: !set-spheres ImaTest Matter 1}




This part is totally optional and not required for a complete character.  If you choose to take flaws, you may have up to 7 points of them.  Each time you take flaws, you gain points to take Merits with.

!set-flaws <character> <trait> <+points>


This part you will only complete if you also took Flaws.  You get as many points for Merits as you took in Flaws.

!set-merits <character> <trait> <+points>


Freebies! As a supernatural, you get 15 points to spend. Each section costs a different amount (point cost).

  • Attributes  (5)
  • Abilities  (2)
  • Secondary  (1)
  • Backgrounds  (1)
  • [Virtues] MaxWillpower  (1)  /  Arete  (4)
  • Spheres  (5)

Each use of the command raises that trait by 1 point only for the appropriate cost.

!freebies <character> <section> <trait>



This should now be complete!
To review:  !see <character> <section>  will show you where your points are spent.
And  !see <character> creation  will show you if you missed spending any points anywhere.

Once everything is squared away, you can then submit and it will post it to the STs for review and approval.

!submit <character>

You are done! Now you just wait for either approval or editing if it turns out something needs tweaking.